Idaho Springs Visitor Center and Heritage Museum

Celebrating Our Gold Mining History
Located Inside the Heritage Museum and Visitor Center
Fire-Fighting Exhibit

Built in 1991, The Heritage Museum exhibits a number of artifacts from the 1860’s to the 1940’s that tell the story of George A. Jackson’s discovery of gold in 1859 and the resulting rush that transformed the valley.

In addition to our mining story, the Museum has a collection of Indian artifacts, fire department equipment, 10th Mountain Division Ski Exhibit, Berthoud Pass Ski Area history, geological specimens, mining tools, and features early day life and hand crafts.

The Heritage Museum is also home to the Clear Creek Watershed Foundation. The Watershed operates their non-profit organization from this location and shares the important message of preserving, restoring and improving the ecological, aesthetic and recreational conditions in the Upper Clear Creek Watershed.
Visit this exhibit hall to learn more.

Open Daily ~ Hours
September – May
9:00 am to 5:00 pm

June – August
8:00 am to 6:00 pm